Brazen Thoughts

Just a peek into the things that go through my head daily

A Mobile Free Ceremony?

Leave a comment

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and I fully buy into that statement. Every bride has her “thing”, the piece of her wedding that means the most to her. For some it’s the flowers, others are big on stationery, and while some put their focus on the music, for me, it’s the photography. Other than the memories, it’s the one thing that you will take away and save from your wedding. Your photographer will be capturing seconds in time that might not occur again, so I want to make sure that Dawn has the opportunity to get them the first and only time!

This is why I am thinking of hosting a mobile free ceremony. Nowadays, it’s not uncommon to see many wedding guests pull out their cell phones when the bride walks into the room or for the first kiss, and while I LOVE those moments and am excited for our friends and family to be there during those times, I don’t want their phones to ruin the moment for Dawn to capture. I also want our guests to be present and engaged during the ceremony, not on facebook, instagram or twitter posting pictures (some of which I might not like!), I want them to listen to the words that Dan and I are saying to each other. Our guests are there to witness and appreciate the love between the two of us, not to be drawn to social media.

Yes, I understand that this is out of the norm and the one thing that I’m a bit old school on, and I’m probably not going to make any friends by telling them to put down their phones, but I hope that at the end of the day, they will respect our wishes and appreciate our ceremony that much more!

A friend sent me this great article written by a professional wedding photographer, who highlights the reasons why an unplugged ceremony is important. The two biggest reasons (aside from not being present) are the flash and standing in the way. So in the future, I encourage you to note where the photographer is, and to make sure you don’t get in their way or have your flash ruin the professional picture.

Here are three examples from Corey Ann Photography to demonstrate what NOT to do at a wedding!

mobilefree11

mobileFreeAA

mobilefree3

Below are two signs I found on Etsy to ask your friends and family to turn off their phones.

mobilefree2

WhimsicalStationery

mobilefree5

TheCrookedTwig

What are your thoughts on an unplugged ceremony?


Leave a Reply

