Brazen Thoughts

Just a peek into the things that go through my head daily

Searching for a Florist

Leave a comment

The time has come to begin searching for a florist. This might be the hardest vendor to search for in our case. When beginning the planning process, we knew people who were very close with photographers and DJ’s, so that took the guessing game out of the way for us. As for the florist, we don’t know anyone! And more than that, I have NO clue what to look for! I have an overall vision, but I don’t know what actually goes into making that vision come to life.

There are tons of articles on the internet to help with this part of the process. I liked this one from Brides. Now to narrow down the hundreds of choices in the city of Chicago! This is NOT going to be an easy task.

I went to Wedding Wire and began a florist search. A big thing for me is location; I don’t want to be making trips out to the suburbs if I don’t have to. Also as soon as winter starts (which could be anytime in the Midwest), Dan is pretty much out of commission to help me out with wedding tasks. (I probably haven’t mentioned this yet, but Dan works at O’Hare, one of the busiest airports in the world, and definitely the busiest that gets as much snow as we can. During the winter months, he often works 12 hour days, seven days a week!) I also want to make sure that the florist will set up and break everything down so that we don’t have to worry about that. The best thing about using a wedding website is that you can filter your search for all of these!

So, now that I have a list of florists that meet my criteria, it’s time to look at their work! I decided to choose my top three (any more than that and I get overwhelmed). The first was Ashland Addison Florist. I know others who have worked with them and they have worked in our venue before, so it’s nice to know they are familiar with the space.

flowers11

The second was Fragrant Design

flowers22

Anna Guziak Photography

Lastly, I looked at A Stem Above

flowers3

Allori Photography

The best thing about all three of these florists is that they all offer a wide variety of styles that they can accomplish, so hopefully one will fit into our budget and we can move forward! Check back to see which we went with!

Leave a Reply

