Brazen Thoughts

Just a peek into the things that go through my head daily

Side Swept Hair

Leave a comment

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with my hair. When it’s good, it’s great and when it’s bad, it’s awful! I have naturally curly hair, and as those of you with curly hair know, it never looks the same twice! Even if you take the same steps every time, it will always look different! It’s frustrating and as a perfectionist, I am not able to deal with this, so I straighten my hair as often as possible.

As I’ve gotten older, my hair has become less curly and more manageable, which helps me to love it more! For this reason, I love wearing my hair down and have imagined on my wedding day wearing it in loose curls cascading down my back like this:

longweddinghair1

Photo Credit: Steve Granitz/WireImage

The problem comes in as I’m looking at the stunning dresses by David Tutera for Mon Cheri. While looking through the site, I’m drawn to lower back styles. I have an affinity for the female back, I think it’s beautiful, and while you’re standing at the end of the aisle, that’s what everyone is going to be looking at! This is where the hair problem comes in. If I wear my hair half up/half down, then you won’t be able to see my back! Yes, this is definitely a first world problem, I know, but my look the day of our wedding is important.

While trying to find a remedy for this situation (mind you I haven’t chosen a dress just yet) I found some gorgeous pictures of brides with side swept hair. This way, I can still show off my back, the back of David’s beautifully designed gown AND wear my hair down! This might just be the best of both worlds!

What do you think of the side swept hair styles?

This version is sleek with very little curl and a cute braid tucked into the back for some fun!

weddinghair2

Ciara Richardson photography

Flowers are always a fun, flirty way to accent your curls.

weddinghair3

Shelly Kroeger photography

weddinghair4

Love Made Visible photography

The slightly messy curls are a great way to show that you are relaxed but still want to look nice on your wedding day!

weddinghair5

Kym Ventola photography

You can also choose to go with a sleek, straight, elegant style.

weddinghair6

Kym Ventola photography

Leave a Reply

